2016 IPAA ACT Conference

In 2016, IPAA ACT held its annual conference on 10 November with the theme "Public Service: Thinking Big". The conference also incorporated the Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management, which were presented at a function the evening prior.

A series of video highlight packages, along with links to complete videos are provided below. Transcripts are available from the navigation bar on the right.

Evening Function - Prime Minister's Awards (2 minutes) with speakers:

  • Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos AO - Cabinet Secretary, Parliament of Australia
  • Dr Gordon de Brouwer PSM - Secretary, Department of the Environment and Energy
  • Carmel McGregor PSM - Chair, Prime Minister's Awards Judging Panel

Session 1 - Thinking Big - highlights video (8 minutes) with speakers:

  • George Megalogenis - Journalist, Commentator & Author
  • Frances Adamson - Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Her Excellency Menna Rawlings CMG - High Commissioner to Australia, British High Commission
  • Dr Larry Marshall - Chief Executive, CSIRO

A complete video of Session 1 is available here.

Session 2 - Innovation - highlights video (8 minutes) with speakers:

  • Catherine Livingstone AO - President, Business Council of Australia
  • Glenys Beauchamp PSM - Secretary, Department of Industry, Innovation & Science
  • Michelle Guthrie - Managing Director, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

A complete video of Session 2 is available here.

Session 3 - Capability - highlights video (8 minutes) with speakers:

  • Kathy Leigh - Head of Service and Director-General, ACT Public Service
  • Finn Pratt AO PSM – Secretary, Department of Social Services
  • Professor Helen Sullivan - Director, Crawford School of Public Policy
  • Blair Comley PSM – Secretary, NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet

A complete video of Session 3 is available here.

Session 4 - Reflections and Summation - highlights video (8 minutes) with speakers:

  • Gordon de Brouwer PSM - Secretary, Department of the Environment and Energy
  • Virginia Haussegger AM - Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis
  • Carmel McGregor PSM - Deputy President, IPAA ACT
  • George Megalogenis - Journalist, Commentator & Author

A copy of the IPAA ACT 2016 Conference Program Overview is available here.



Tier 1 corporate partners


Tier 2 corporate partner

Digital content partner

In-kind partner

IPAA ACT acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of country throughout Australia, and their continuing connection to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging.

Contact IPAA

ABN: 24 656 727 375
Phone: (02) 6154 9800
Unit 4A, 16 National Circuit,
Barton ACT 2600

Postal Address

PO Box 4349
Kingston ACT 2604

Subscribe to IPAA

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive information about upcoming events, initiatives and activities.