IPAA ACT Council

IPAA ACT is governed by an elected Council of twenty members, including an Executive Committee which comprises of seven members. The current Council is serving a two-year term from September 2017 to September 2019.


Frances Adamson
Department of the Foreign Affairs and Trade                   

Deputy President

Carmel McGregor PSM FIPAA
Fellow and former Deputy Secretary

Deputy President

Michael Manthorpe PSM
Commonwealth Ombudsman
Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman


Barry Mewett FIPAA
Fellow and Individual Member


Elizabeth Kelly PSM
Deputy Secretary
Department of Industry, Innovation and Science

Assistant Secretary/Treasurer

Samantha Palmer FIPAA
General Manager
Australian Bureau of Statistics

Chair Corporate Governance

Jonathan Hutson
Individual Member

Dr Dawn Casey PSM
Deputy CEO

Professor Mark Evans
Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis, University of Canberra

David Hazlehurst
Executive Director

Alison Larkins
Nous Group

Kathy Leigh FIPAA 
Head of Service
ACT Public Service

Leonie McGregor
First Assistant Secretary
Department of Finance 

Liz Quinn
Group Manager, Centre for Leadership and Learning
Australian Public Service Commission

Brendan Sargeant 
Honorary Professor
Australian National University

William Story 
Chief of Staff, Office of the Secretary
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet 

Professor Helen Sullivan FIPAA
Director, Crawford School of Public Policy 
Australian National University

Dr Vivienne Thom AM
Former Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
Independent Consultant 

Andrew Wood PSM
Deputy Secretary and Chief Operating Officer
Department of Human Services

Drew Baker (ex officio)
Chief Executive Officer
Institute of Public Administration Australia (ACT)