Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management

The Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management is a national Awards program run annually by the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA), facilitated by the ACT Division. The Awards aim to encourage and recognise better practice and innovation across all levels of Government in Australia. They focus on specific initiatives and are based on organisations demonstrating success against four demanding criteria.

The Awards are designed to honour the achievements of public sector work groups, units and teams rather than individuals, with organisations needing to demonstrate that they are able to devise and implement innovative customer focused initiatives. Nominees must also demonstrate that their success was not accidental, but that it was the result of a methodical and sustainable approach to improving the organisation’s practices in client satisfaction, leadership, people management, change management, planning, governance and innovation.

The Awards

Awards are presented in the following categories:

  1. Sustainable Excellence in Public Sector Management - Gold
  2. Sustainable Excellence in Public Sector Management - Silver
  3. Sustainable Excellence in Public Sector Management - Commended

Two supplementary awards may also be awarded at the discretion of the Judges: 

  1. Collaboration - joint nominations between two or more organisations;
  2. People and Change Management - highly effective approaches in this area; and
  3. Kennedy Award - aims to recognise nominations from small agencies who have managed to demonstrate excellence in public sector management whilst having access to fewer resources.

Nominations can be awarded for the above categories or the supplementary awards, or both.


Any work unit, group or team within the Commonwealth, State or Territory and local government Public Sectors may nominate an initiative for the Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management. 

Initiatives that involve other organisations, private sector and/or community-based organisations are also eligible but only if the initiative is sponsored by the nominating public sector organisation.  It is imperative that nominations that fall into this category are endorsed by the Secretary/CEO of the nominating public sector organisation. Cross agency or whole of government initiatives are also eligible and are strongly encouraged. Eligible initiatives can be large in scale and impact across the entire organisation (or multiple organisations), or they can be small in scale and impact at a more local level (or anywhere in between).

2019 Awards - Key Dates

  • 1 April - Stage 1 nominations open
  • 30 May - Stage 1 nominations close
  • 17 June - Stage 2 invitations issued
  • 1 August - Stage 2 nominations close
  • 13 November - Award Ceremony

Nomination Fee

The entrance fee for a Stage 1 nomination is $990 (inclusive of GST). No additional fee is payable if you are invited to participate in Stage 2. Nominations lodged without payment will be non-compliant and will not be considered unless/until payment is received. Payment can be made through the portal here once a nomination has been completed and submitted.

For more information on the 2019 Awards please contact the IPAA ACT office here


Contact IPAA

ABN: 24 656 727 375
Phone: (02) 6154 9800
Unit 4, 16 National Circuit,
Barton ACT 2600

Postal Address

PO Box 4349
Kingston ACT 2604

Subscribe to IPAA

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive information about upcoming events, initiatives and activities.