Winners of 2018 Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence

The Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management aim to encourage and recognise better practice across all levels of Government in Australia. The awards are in their sixteenth year and in 2018 attracted the largest number of nominations since inception.

The winners of the 2018 awards were announced at an award ceremony on Tuesday 30 October at the National Portrait Gallery. The awards, which are made from Sydney Blue Gum and reflect the design of the Australian Parliament House flagpole, were presented by Senator the Hon Zed Seselja, the Assistant Minister for Treasury and Finance, on behalf of the Prime Minister. The ceremony was chaired by Frances Adamson, IPAA ACT President and Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

IPAA congratulates the winners of the 2018 Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management.


Queensland Police Service
Operation Sentinel: Queensland Police Service Commonwealth Games Group


Department of Human Services
‘Hacking’ fraud controls to identify vulnerabilities


Department of Education
Resource Allocation Model (RAM) for NSW Public Schools

People and Change

Ambulance Victoria
Occupational Violence Prevention Program


Queensland Police Service
Operation Sentinel: Queensland Police Service Commonwealth Games Group

Summary - a document summarising the winners and listing the finalists is available here.
Video - a highlights package (2 minutes 20 seconds) is available below or on IPAA's Vimeo channel here.
Photos - a selection of photos from the night are available below. High resolution copies are available by contacting IPAA.

(above) Gold award winner: Queensland Government - Queensland Police Service

(above) Silver award winner: Australian Government - Department of Human Services

(above) Commendation award winner: New South Wales Government - Department of Education

(above) People and Change Management award winner: Victorian Government - Ambulance Victoria

(above) Collaboration award winner: Queensland Government - Queensland Police Service

(above L-R) Senator the Hon Zed Seselja and Frances Adamson

(above) volunteer assessors being recognised for their contribtuion to the Prime Minister's Awards

(above) the audience at the Gordon Darling Hall at the National Portrait Gallery


Tier 1 corporate partners


Tier 2 corporate partners

Digital content partner

In-kind partners

IPAA ACT acknowledges the Traditional Owners and Custodians of country throughout Australia, and their continuing connection to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging.

Contact IPAA

ABN: 24 656 727 375
Phone: (02) 6154 9800
Unit 4A, 16 National Circuit,
Barton ACT 2600

Postal Address

PO Box 4349
Kingston ACT 2604

Subscribe to IPAA

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive information about upcoming events, initiatives and activities.